Lightbox Originals Logo

Costa Short Story Award

The Costa Short Story Award recognises great short stories that have not yet been published. The competition is run in association with the prestigious, Costa Book Awards but is judged independently.

Short stories submitted can be up to 4,000 words. Authors may be published or unpublished but must be over 18 and based in the UK or Ireland.

Judges include Adele Parks, Joe Haddow, Kit de Waal, Sarah Franklin and Simon Trewin. The public will be invited to read the top three stories and vote for their favourite. 

The winner will be awarded £3,500. Second prize is £1,000 and third is £500. All three will be announced at the Costa Book Awards ceremony in January 2021. 

It’s FREE to enter by 5pm on 28th August.

Related Articles

Join the Discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for writing inspiration? Sign up for our free, 'Weekly Wonder' newsletter and receive a beautiful guide and calendar that will show you the magic of how just 100 words can unlock your writing dreams.

Your Basket