Lightbox Originals Logo

The Primadonna Prize

The Primadonna Prize is designed to open up access to the publishing industry for talented, emerging writers who are unsigned and unrepresented.

Entrants must submit 500 words written around the theme: ‘the more things change’.

A longlist of 30 entries will be sent onto professional editors at a mainstream publishing house who will agree a shortlist of five. Shortlisted writers will be required to submit a longer piece of 5,000 words.

The prize will be judged by multi-award-winning author Elif Shafak; author and panellist June Sarpong OBE; author Monisha Rajesh; publisher Lisa Milton and literary agent Cathryn Summerhayes.


Related Articles

Join the Discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up to our inspirational, weekly newsletter (it's free) and receive a beautiful guide that will show you the magic of how just 100 words can unlock your writing dreams. You'll also receive a motivational writing calendar.